Florida’s sunny golf courses are best navigated on a low-speed golf cart with open sides and easy maneuvering. They’re cost-effective and compact, making them extremely popular modes of transportation. Despite their popularity, there remains much confusion surrounding golf cart insurance requirements.
Unless you plan on using your golf cart on the road or highway, it does not need to be registered or insured. However, as Florida deems the vehicle to be a “dangerous instrumentality,” it is recommended you carry some form of liability insurance. As a dangerous instrumentality, the golf cart driver runs the risk of being held liable for any accidents involving negligence. For specific questions or guidance regarding a golf cart accident, it is in your best interest to partner with a knowledgeable attorney. They can help review your case and devise the best course of legal action for your situation.
Does Florida Require Golf Cart Owners to Have Insurance?
As outlined in section 320.105 of the Florida Statutes, a golf cart does not need to adhere to the state’s registration and title requirements as long as it follows the rules and regulations imposed in sections 316.212 and 316.2126. This means Florida does not actively require golf cart owners to carry insurance, though it is still recommended the owner consider obtaining liability insurance, medical payments coverage, or uninsured motorist coverage.
In the event of an accident, this insurance will help to cover any damages as a result of negligence or recklessness. If you are in an accident with a golf cart and the owner does not have insurance on the vehicle, their homeowner insurance may cover the damages. No matter the situation, an attorney can help you identify the liable party and file a claim with their insurance company in order to recover the compensation you need after your accident.
Determining Liability in a Florida Golf Cart Accident
When a golf cart accident occurs, liability will be established by determining negligence. This is done by collecting and assessing any potentially relevant evidence. This can range anywhere from photographs of the accident from your phone, eyewitness accounts, security camera footage, police reports, or even detailed medical records. From there, the four components of negligence will be demonstrated, which include the following concepts:
- You were owed a standard of care
- That care was breached
- The breach resulted in a golf cart accident
- The golf cart accident directly caused your injury
In the Sunshine State, liability can be shared. Florida currently follows a modified comparative negligence law, which means the plaintiff can recover damages and still be liable, but only if their own share of the responsibility is 50 percent or less. If they are found to be more than 50 percent responsible for the accident, they will be unable to recover compensation from the defendant’s insurance.
Consult a Knowledgeable Florida Personal Injury Attorney Today
Nobody should have to suffer an injury due to another person’s recklessness. If you have been involved in an accident involving a golf cart, reach out to the dedicated and compassionate team at McPherson & Thomas, P.A. today. With over 25 years of experience, Scott McPherson has devoted his career to protecting his local community’s rights and helping them obtain the compensation they deserve to move forward from their accidents.
We treat our clients like we treat our family, meaning you have aggressive representation from the very first consultation to the final settlement agreement. We also don’t see a single penny unless you win your case. To get started today with a free consultation, please call our office at (727) 848-8892 or use our contact form.